Chicken Souvlaki

Guys! I have not cooked in over 2 weeks! TWO WEEKS!!!

My poor husband is probably wishing for an annulment.

Since I started my new job 3 months ago, I have been a little lazy when it comes to cooking. Let me explain….I’m out of the office around 6pm most days and as I have mentioned before, I shop pretty much only for the ingredients that I plan to use that night. This means after driving back from work and hitting up Wegmans, I don’t get home till around 7:45ish. I then start cooking. Nick doesn’t get home until about 9:30, which leaves me with plenty of time to cook – the bad side being that I’ve gained 10lbs in the past 2 years we’ve been living together because of the late eating schedule – but not enough down time. So that’s where the laziness comes in, and instead of cooking, I plop on the couch, watch my DVRed shows and then proudly announce to Nick that we (really him) are getting takeout when calls on his drive home from work.

Anyway…enough with the laziness….and on with the cooking! HEALTHY COOKING!

Last night, I decided to go Greek….so CHICKEN SOUVLAKI it was.

And the finished product:

I stuffed most of the food on my plate into that lovely whole wheat pita. It was a sloppy mess, busting at the seams…..and I loved every second of it!

The homemade Tzatziki sauce was spot on and the chicken was great. I cooked mine on a panini press due to the vertical challenge we face living on the 4 floor of our building with no access to a grill, but I bet it would have been even better with that yummy grill flavor along with the delicious marinade.Of course, it’s never just the 2 of us…..Gatsby can’t pass up the opportunity of fabulous food and delicious cocktails.…….that’s just water 😉

Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki Sauce

For the tzatziki sauce:

  • 12 oz. plain non-fat Greek yogurt (I used 0% plain Fage)
  • 1 cucumber, peeled, seeds removed and grated
  • A few twists of sea salt
  • 2 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/4 tsp. ground pepper
  • 1 tbsp fresh dill

For the chicken:

  • 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (3-4 oz. each), cubed
  • 1/8 cup white vinegar + 1/8 cup water
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 teaspoons dried oregano
  • Salt and pepper

Directions:

For the tzatziki sauce:

  1. Add grated cucumber to a bowl with salt.  Let sit for 15 minutes or so.
  2. Wring out cucumber with a kitchen towel to remove excess liquid then combine with yogurt, garlic, pepper and dill.
  3. Mix well and set aside.

For the chicken:

  1. Heat up panini press or if you’re using the grill, spray it with cooking spray and heat on HIGH.
  2. Combine ingredients 2 through 6 in a bowl then add cubed chicken, mixing well so all the chicken is coated.  Let sit for 5 minutes.
  3. Thread chicken onto skewers – I ended up using up 10 bamboo skewers – if you’re using the grill, make sure to wrap your skewers with tin foil or use metal ones..
  4. Lay skewers on the hot grill turning frequently and cooking until chicken is nicely browned on both sides.
  5. Remove from heat and serve with whatever your little heart desires…. we sliced up some cucumber, diced tomatoes and some mixed greens.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

